Remembering MLK with a Self Taught Lesson

20Jan19

new-canaan-page-2 (1)

Many of you who know me well enough, know that I had been a teacher over the years.

The train station above has special meaning to me as it fills volumes of stories for many children’s lives- parents divorcing, emotional distress and economic hardships.

I had one such student several years ago who was bright and talented but suffering from the break up of his parents. He loved the school drama club; but with the economic challenges of his family, had no money to enroll in the school district’s theater summer camp. I wrote out a check to cover his cost for that summer and as things go, time marched on.

Fast forward several years later, my wife, Carol and I were waiting on the train platform one afternoon years later to attend the Broadway Show, “Hairspray” in New York City. Sitting on one of the station benches was this same student I had several years earlier. We began to chat and got re-acquainted. I was astonished to find out that this young man had graduated from New York University in theater and now was on Broadway himself!

So the moral of the story, in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King’s memory is- No matter what occupation you’re in, it’s all about relationships you create and how you can make a difference in someone’s life just by doing something small…

Al Bagocius


No Responses Yet to “Remembering MLK with a Self Taught Lesson”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment